grundleborg

open source stuff

  • Twitter Feed

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

KDE+Telepathy Summer of Code Ideas

Posted by grundleborg on February 22, 2009

Calling all students who are/would like to be KDE hackers with an interest in real-time communications. The drive  to get Telepathy integrated  with KDE needs you!

The magical moment in the year when Summer of Code proposals start flooding in is fast approaching. This time last year, I was working on my own proposal, which was the first major coding I did in KDE. Now, one year later, I find myself putting together proposals on Techbase to try and encourage others to take part in Summer of Code.

So, if any of the following ideas sound cool to you, why not make a proposal, or come and talk to me (grundleborg) in #decibel on IRC.

1) Telepathy Chat Logger: A program which will log into Akonadi the text of all chats you have with your buddies (except when you go off-the-record, of course).

2) Telepathy Integration into your favourite KDE app: Why not add collaborative features to your favourite KDE app, or add multiplayer capacity to your favourite game so it can be played with your Jabber buddies?

3) Telepathy + Plasma: Theres loads of cool potential in making plasma aware of your presence and your contacts who are online.

4) Something else awesome: There’s bound to be loads of cool possibilities I haven’t thought of for Telepathy in KDE. Feel free to suggest your own ideas, and if it’s feasible, I’d love to be your mentor.

For more information about any of the ideas mentioned here, take a look at thet Techbase ideas page.

5 Responses to “KDE+Telepathy Summer of Code Ideas”

  1. Makosol said

    wasn’t KDE’s implementention of Telepathy the Decibel framework ? i’m surprised not to see any of your proposition mention that.

  2. grundleborg said

    @Makosol: Decibel is a daemon which forms part of the infrastructure for Telepathy in KDE. So, you are right, it is part of the KDE implementation of Telepathy. The reason why it doesn’t get mentioned in any of the ideas I’ve put down so far is because none of them are for working directly on the Decibel daemon. There are people working on that itself at the moment (including me), but I didn’t have any ideas for it that felt like they’d make good SoC proposals.

  3. atomopawn said

    I am a professor at a small public university. As part of my research, I obtained a grant to set up a small VoIP network using some Digium cards. One of my students came to me the other week and suggested that they would be interested in doing some development that involved VoIP and KDE as a Summer of Code project. I will try to put him in touch with you.

    Perhaps he could work on asterisk/telepathy integration or something like that?

    He’s a very competent programmer and will have access to plenty of good equipment. He’s done a little Qt programming, but would probably need some help getting a grip on the telepathy API.

  4. grundleborg said

    @atomopawn – That sounds great. Please do get him to contact me. #decibel on irc.freenode.net is the best way. I’m very happy to help people get underway with Telepathy if they aren’t already familiar with how it works.

  5. […] at 6:08 pm · Filed under decibel, kde ·Tagged decibel, kde, kopete, plasma, telepathy A couple of weeks ago, I started an attempt to give regular updates on what’s going on with Telepathy development in […]

Leave a Reply

 
