grundleborg

open source stuff

Getting back to regular posts

Posted by grundleborg on February 20, 2009

I haven’t been writing here regularly since last Summer but I think its finally time to get back to regular updates on what I’m doing in KDE. However, this long absence from the planet doesn’t mean I haven’t been contributing.

I’ve been working madly for the last couple of months on getting the infrastructure in place in KDE for widespread use of Telepathy. Nothing exciting to show off yet, but I will be posting regular updates on the progress of this work, starting imminently.

It’s great to see the plasma browser plugin being mentioned and played with again. I plan to work on making it more than just a proof-of-concept again soon, but not just yet. I’m waiting until a secure ecmascript API is in place for plasmoids. Otherwise, as people rightly pointed out on the original blog post comments, it would be a security disaster. Perhaps the KDE 4.4 timeframe will be the right time to resume development of it.

Also, I’m really happy to see the Bugsquad still going strong… This incarnation is rapidly approaching its first anniversary – perhaps we should find some bug-tastic way of celebrating…

One Response to “Getting back to regular posts”

  1. Andreas said

    Fried bugs maybe? I read that most bugs taste like seafood – sounds yummy to me.
    In some tropical countries where big insects live you can buy them on the market, if the pictures I’ve seen are not ‘shopped 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
