grundleborg

open source stuff

Return of the Plasma Browser Plugin

Posted by grundleborg on September 5, 2008

You might remember some months ago that I posted a proof-of-concept plasma plugin for Mozilla Firefox on Linux. Well, a lot of tweaking later, we can now see a wide assortment of clocks in Mozilla Firefox on another platform (no prizes for guessing which one).

The most time consuming part of getting this up and running on Windows was actually just getting KDE compiled in the first place (emerge hates me). After that, it took about 10 lines of code and a few tweaks to CMakeLists.txt and it works.

Well, I say it works, but if I were more honest I’d say I managed to get the clocks to appear once out of many attempts in Firefox, and to grab a quick screenshot before I started trying to interact with them and brought everything crashing down. So, if you want to try this out yourself, be warned: you’ll need a lot of patience to do all the tweaking needed to get it working, and then it’ll still eat your babies.

Source code is in the same git repository as last time. See the README file included for barely-comprehensible instructions on how to destroy your soul.

When I blogged about this originally, there were lots of comments from people worrying about the security implications. I’d like to write about that in more detail, but I don’t have enough time, so it will have to wait for another day. For now I’ll just point out one thing: it is only a proof-of-concept at this stage. Obviously if this ever becomes a finished product, there will be security in place to stop plasmoids from the web interacting with your local computer in inappropriate ways – it will not work like Microsoft’s ActiveX, but much more like Adobe Flash.

7 Responses to “Return of the Plasma Browser Plugin”

  1. M A said

    Cool. We are all waiting for an open source version of flash!!

    Cheers for the good work. Keep it up.

  2. Thumbs up and hats down :)

  3. I’ve seen that coming :-) I can predict the near future regarding technology ^^
    Hopefully i’ll soon be a noted designer in the open source world (need free time for it!) hehe . Cheers! :D

  4. This is really beautiful stuff. An open source alternative to active X and flash. Wonderful.

    The security concerns are absolutely reasonable, but these should not stop you. I would love if you can dedicate to this project and make it solid. I would love to help you, but I’m just beginning to learn C++ and I never programmed KDE (I know some Python though -can it help?)

  5. [...] This is cool:  KDE 4 Plasmoids in a browser. [...]

  6. Michael Leupold said

    Congratulations for finally getting that one working \o/

  7. [...] great to see the plasma browser plugin being mentioned and played with again. I plan to work on making it more than just a [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

